Day 16: Boolections

Work: 240 min

A lot of teaching prep. and reading for class. I got observed today. I’ll hear about it tomorrow. Honestly, I could really use some feedback at this point because I’ve never taught this course and sometimes it is hard to know what’s working, what isn’t, and what I could do instead of what I’m doing. I put a lot of effort into my lesson plans, PowerPoints and try to make discussions interesting and relevant, but sometimes I feel there’s a communication breakdown or that I’m not getting my point across well.

Social: 150 min

Boo Radley held elections. I really enjoyed being able to observe the process, hear candidates’ speeches and see how members reacted. Two fantastic leaders were elected as senior executives. I am currently in the process of applying for an executive board position. It’s more work and commitment to take on, but I believe in this organization, in what it can do for its members and can already see the positive impact it’s had on my life. There are two rounds after review of applications: interviews, and then, final selection.

I am a very new member so I don’t know how likely it is that I’ll get a position, but I still want to go through the process as I’ve found that thinking about questions on applications and interviewing is an excellent way to develop professionalism and the ability to articulate ideas about your work in itself. So I’m going to go for it.

Total: 390 min

 

Leave a Reply

